Tags

, , , , , ,

There was an email in my inbox yesterday about a little place on Gilbert St in the city offering tantalizing hand crafted treats. There was a new artisan patisserie in Adelaide and I was curious, so just after lunchtime I decided I deserved a small indulgence or 3. My friend and I headed down to Dolce and Co on Gilbert St, a non descript, stark grey building. As we walked in, a series of glass rooms opened up in front of us. The 1st room was a tiny space of glass and polished concrete with a few seats along an industrial benchtop by the front window. The other side of the room was lined simply with glass boxes showcasing the desserts on offer. Beyond this was another glass wall allowing you a view to the steel kitchen in which the magic happens and adjacent to both these rooms was the store, Ecotel, carrying a large range of restaurant essentials. Once inside I couldn’t take my eyes off the glass cabinets housing a variety of decadent treats.

There were chocolate lollipops…

There were pretty petit gateaux….

There were pastries….

There were ice creams, macarons, verrines and coffee….

Deciding on which temptation to indulge in took a little patience. The pina colada had the priviledge of our 1st tasting.

It was a block of coconut creme legere, layered with coconut dacqoise filled with a pocket of pineapple confit. This little block of spring sunshine was adorned with a mini white chocolate leaf and a pippete filled with sweet liquer. The pina colada was playful and delightfully refreshing and would be ideal on a warm spring day. A gorgeous and very morish dessert.

Next we tried the raspberry lollipop. Layers of mousse, raspberry jelly, delicate pistacchio sponge and biscuit base, topped with a beautifully patterned sheath of white chocolate.

This one was a little milder on the palette. It had really nice textural differences but I would have preferred a more robust crunch with the biscuit. The base seemed to lose itself a little in the other layers.

Happy with our indulgence, we were about to leave, but I was mesmerised by all the little wonders in their glass boxes, so we stayed a little longer and decided to try a few more things. I couldn’t go past the mango heart, not so much because I like mango but more because it was shaped like a heart, and on a stick.

This was so yummy! Creamy mango ice cream with a salted caramel filling dipped in delicate white chocolate. We also tried the rouge verrine. Raspberry compote, milk chocolate mousse, raspberry mousse and crumbled biscuit, all packed into a mini glass jar.

Sorry about the blurry picture, but by this stage I wanted to dive in for a mouthful. This verrine was magic in a jar. It was quite a simple dessert, and it reminded me of an upmarket trifle, very cool. To finish off, my friend had a mushroom and leek pie, with beautiful flaky pasty and a hearty filling, it was very tasty.

The visit to Dolce and Co made me smile for the rest of the day and I will definitely be making another trip back there soon. All their desserts look and sound so delicious and I’m torn between the blackforest pop, hazelnut crunch, and the salted caramel tart. I will probably have to try all 3 next time.

Dolce & Co on Urbanspoon

